Industry Research
Traditional dental SEO/AEO: what $500 and $3,000 a month can buy.
Research checked September 15, 2026. Published package counts and buyer targets are different things. The footnotes below the table identify each number; the modeled traffic rows are scenarios, not promises.1
0 promised — no new article specified3
4 blog posts plus service-page content3
0 promised — no backlink quota published4
10+ on a multi-location plan; monthly or cumulative not stated4
0 promised — no meeting cadence published7
1 as a buyer target; the cited plan advertises every two weeks7
Target keywords
About $500/month
Partly:5–7 tracked targets2
About $3,000/month
Yes:25 implant-related targets2
New articles a month
About $500/month
No:0 promised — no new article specified3
About $3,000/month
Yes:4 blog posts plus service-page content3
Backlinks
About $500/month
No:0 promised — no backlink quota published4
About $3,000/month
Partly:10+ on a multi-location plan; monthly or cumulative not stated4
Guaranteed AI citations
About $500/month
No:0 guaranteed5
About $3,000/month
No:0 guaranteed5
Reports a month
About $500/month
Yes:1 monthly report6
About $3,000/month
Yes:1 monthly analytics report6
Strategy meetings a month
About $500/month
No:0 promised — no meeting cadence published7
About $3,000/month
Yes:1 as a buyer target; the cited plan advertises every two weeks7
Modeled additional website clicks a month
About $500/month
Modeled:50 — a worked scenario, not a promise8
About $3,000/month
Modeled:300 — a worked scenario, not a promise8
Modeled additional website inquiries a month
About $500/month
Modeled:1–3 at an illustrative 2–5% inquiry rate9
About $3,000/month
Modeled:6–15 at an illustrative 2–5% inquiry rate9
Sources and notes
- 1Published prices on this page are agency advertisements, not an independent market survey or proof that every agency delivers the same work. Compare written proposals for the clinic’s size, existing site, market competition, location count, content quota, setup fees and contract term. Research checked September 15, 2026.
- 2DDS MediaPro, Foundation advertises 5–7 keyword targets at $499 a month. Patient Excel, Growth Accelerator advertises 25 implant-related targets at $3,000 a month. These are tracking and optimization targets, not guaranteed rankings.
- 3Neither cited $499 plan — DDS MediaPro, Foundation or DNTL’s Google Business Profile plan — specifies a new monthly article, hence 0 promised. Patient Excel advertises 4 blog posts a month plus service-page content at $3,000. Other $3,000 retainers may set content volume after an audit.
- 4The cited $499 packages publish no backlink quota. Rathly’s $3,000 multi-location plan advertises 10+ backlinks but does not state whether that count is monthly or cumulative; Patient Excel includes backlink building without a numerical quota. 10+ is not a single-clinic monthly standard.
- 50 guaranteed means no promised placement in an AI answer; it does not mean zero appearances. The cited $499 DDS MediaPro plan and Rotgar’s dental-eligible retainer from USD $3,000 a month publish no AI citation quota. Google says AI Overviews have no special technical requirements.
- 6DDS MediaPro and DNTL advertise monthly reporting near $500. Patient Excel’s $3,000 plan includes its $2,000 Foundation plan’s monthly analytics report.
- 71 a month is the buyer target requested for this comparison, not Patient Excel’s advertised quota. Patient Excel actually advertises meetings every two weeks; the cited $499 packages do not promise a meeting cadence.
- 8The 50 and 300 clicks are hypothetical: 5,000 × (3% − 2%) = 50 and 20,000 × (3.5% − 2%) = 300 for commercially relevant Google Search impressions. Search Console defines click-through rate as clicks ÷ impressions. A Business-Profile-only $499 service cannot be forecast from website-search impressions.
- 9Applying an illustrative 2–5% website click-to-inquiry rate to 50 and 300 clicks gives 1–3 and 6–15 inquiries after rounding. The rate comes from a UK dental agency’s directional treatment-page range; another dental agency uses more than 3% as a visitor-to-enquiry rule of thumb. These are not universal rates. Qualified leads can be lower after removing existing-patient, duplicate, wrong-service and spam contacts; direct Business Profile calls are not included.
- 10Google’s AI-features guidance says ordinary SEO practices apply and there is no special AI Overview schema or technical requirement; AI-feature traffic is included in Search Console’s web reporting. Google Business Profile metrics define “calls” as call-button clicks. Google’s SEO hiring guidance says no one can guarantee a #1 ranking.
- 11Google’s core-update guidance says improvements can take days to several months to affect search results and are not guaranteed to have a noticeable impact.
- 12Google Search Console defines click-through rate as clicks divided by impressions. Google Business Profile defines calls as call-button clicks, not completed conversations; its booking count is available only with a supported booking provider. Leads and bookings therefore need separate clinic-side tracking.
Agency names appear only as published pricing references; none of them endorses this research. Modeled rows are worked examples, not forecasts for any practice.
Before signing, ask.
Ask for the first month in writing
Request the first-month deliverables, the monthly content and page cadence, the definition and proof of any backlinks, how patient inquiries and booked appointments are measured, who approves clinical claims, and who owns and can access the website, Business Profile, analytics and content.
Ask what is left out
Confirm which of website redesign, hosting, advertising spend, social media, photo and video work, review replies and additional locations are excluded from the price.
Compare work and outcomes, not rankings
The two price points should be judged by documented work and patient outcomes. No one can guarantee a #1 ranking, and Google says AI Overviews need no special technical treatment beyond ordinary SEO.10
The published packages behind the numbers.
Every figure in the table above comes from one of these price pages. Prices are as advertised on September 15, 2026.1
Core-page and Business Profile optimization, technical foundation, 5–7 target keywords, 5–10 citations, analytics setup, monthly reporting. The citation count’s timing is not stated.
Profile optimization and management, weekly posts, review strategy, competitor analysis, monthly reporting. Its profile plus website local SEO plan is $1,199.
Hosting, local SEO, Business Profile, review generation, monthly report. Its $997 Growth plan adds two content pieces a month. The Canadian site does not label the currency on its pricing page.
Delmain, Nurture
$575Maintenance-oriented SEO and AI-search support, available only after six months on a higher plan, so it is not an initial $575 campaign.
Implant-focused one-practice program: Business Profile and local SEO, citations, 25 implant keyword targets, backlinks, four blogs a month plus service-page content, a landing page, and meetings every two weeks.
Up to five Business Profiles, 10+ pages optimized and 10+ backlinks. This is multi-location scope; the one-location plan is $1,500. The page does not say whether page and link counts are monthly.
Rotgar, medical AI visibility
From USD $3,000Dental-eligible, AI-answer-focused retainer: technical and page fixes, medically reviewed content and source improvements, AI visibility checks, monthly planning. Volume is scoped after an audit.
Monthly clicks and leads: a planning model, not a promise.
Neither the published $499 nor the $3,000 packages above promises a minimum number of clicks or qualified new-patient leads. There is no defensible general conversion from agency fee to traffic. The modeled rows in the main table are conditional calculations for a sustained month after the campaign has had time to take effect, not expected or guaranteed results. Google notes that search changes may take days to several months to have an effect, and may have no noticeable effect at all.11
The impression totals and click-through changes in the table are hypothetical assumptions, not published price-tier benchmarks. A $500 Business-Profile-only plan needs a separate forecast from actual completed calls and forms; website-search impressions are not the right input. The clinic’s own measured website inquiry rate is better than a generic rate.12
For context, an older AdLuge review of about 30 North American dental practices reported 20 organic-search leads per practice in July 2013. That is total existing organic lead volume across practices and budgets, not leads created by a $500 or $3,000 SEO service. Liine’s 2024 report analyzed nearly 50,000 US dental new-patient leads collected in 2023; 72.9% arrived by phone and 27.1% by online form. It does not connect agency price to click or lead output. A Firegang case study reports one practice moving from 148 to 2,183 monthly organic visitors and from 30 to over 200 monthly new-patient calls after six months, but it was a broader marketing program and an unusually large single case, not a price-tier benchmark.
To forecast a specific clinic, use three months of baseline data: non-branded commercial-query impressions, clicks and click-through rate in Search Console; Business Profile website-link clicks and call-button clicks; completed new-patient calls, forms and booking requests; and actual booked appointments. Separate new-patient enquiries from existing-patient or spam contacts. Ask the agency to forecast each step, state which pages and locations it will change, and compare month-by-month results with that baseline. Do not add Search Console clicks to Business Profile website clicks as if they are automatically distinct patients.
Or run a free site check-up first.
